Our History

Beckenham Lawn Tennis Club is 136 years old and much indebted to the generous gift of time and expertise given by so many members over the years.

  • alt
  • alt
  • alt

Beckenham Cricket Club was founded in early 1866 and is one of the oldest sporting venues in south-east England. But Lawn Tennis was not conceived at Foxgrove Road until November 1879.

From an original three grass courts, the section now boasts 18 courts – including six grass, four acrylic, three artificial clay and five macadams.

Maria Bueno, John Newcombe, Vijay Amritraj and Pam Shriver are famous Honorary Members.

Membership Enquiry

Club Milestones

1866   Beckenham Cricket Club established (24 March)
1879   Beckenham Lawn Tennis Club established (17 November)
1880   Membership opened to female members (29 November)
1886   First Kent All-Comers’ Championships (1-5 June)
1890   Founder member of the Kent Lawn Tennis Association
1893   Main Clubhouse re-built, with more changing room space
1895   Original Pavilion beside three grass courts knocked down
1895   Beckenham Journal indicates there are 150 Lady tennis members
1895   Ladies and Men’s singles trophies first presented to club champions

1896   The Ladies’ Pavilion built for female members
1906   The Ladies’ Pavilion is glazed and made water tight
1920   First under-21 events held as part of Kent All-Comers’ Championships
1922   Davis Cup tie contested between India and Romania (19-20 June)

1928   Nursery extension completed on the side of The Ladies’ Pavilion
1932   First of regular annual warm-up matches held during Tennis Week for Wightman Cup ties
1940   Parachute mine lands on grass Court 11 & 12, rendering nearby Maywood House uninhabitable (18 November)

1946   Kent All-Comers’ Championships recommences after World War II
1963   Kent All-Comers’ Championships becomes Great Britain’s first sponsored tennis event (Rothmans)
1966   Beckenham Cricket Club centenary; new main clubhouse built (beginning August)
1968   Kent All-Comers’ Championships becomes world’s first Open Era grass-court event
1971   Kent All-Comers’ Championships saved from ending by Peter West & Associates Ltd. sponsorship
1975   Groundsman’s house construction work completed (first resident George Stoneham)
1977   First visit of Beckenham members to Rotterdam Tennis Club (R12), lasting 23 years
1977   Angela Hughes appointed as first female chairman of Beckenham Lawn Tennis Club

1979   Two macadam courts constructed (Courts 5-6), replacing grass courts
1980   Men’s first team crowned summer Kent County Champions, ending a 52-year wait for title

1984   Floodlights switched on for first time on two macadam courts (November)
1986   Centenary of Kent All-Comers’ Championships (Direct Line Insurance Beckenham Open)
1987   Trophy bar extension work completed in main clubhouse

1990   Two shale courts converted to macadam courts (Courts 8-10)
1991   One macadam court constructed (cage Court 7)
1996   101st and final Kent All-Comers’ Championships (Beckenham Open), ending due to lack of sponsor
1996   Renovation work begins on The Ladies’ Pavilion (February)
1996   First Beckenham Junior Open held (July) with Peugeot as title sponsor

1997   Four acrylic courts with floodlights constructed (September), replacing grass match courts (Courts 1-4)
1999   Ladies’ first team crowned summer Kent County Champions, ending a 52-wait for title
2001   Ladies first team crowned winter Kent County Champions, ending a 50-wait for title

2004  Beckenham Lawn Tennis Club celebrates 125th anniversary
2004  The Ladies’ Pavilion is renamed The Summer Pavilion (June)
2005  Attempts made to resurrect the Kent All-Comers’ Championships (January-June)
2009  The Kent County Junior Championships held (August)
2011   Three artificial clay courts constructed (May), replacing macadam courts (Courts 5-7)
2013   The Summer Pavilion is Grade II listed by English Heritage (March)
2014   Four acrylic courts surface re-skimmed (Courts 1-4)
2015   20th Beckenham Junior Open held (July) with AMOSCA as title sponsor

2016   Beckenham Cricket Club celebrates its 150th anniversary

View a list of Beckenham Cricket Club Presidents & Vice Presidents from the tennis section.